A View From My Disjointed Laptop


  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 10,333 hits
  • Categories

  • site stats
  • Advertisements

Posts Tagged ‘Colombia’

Brazil vs Colombia

Posted by RB Kollannur on July 5, 2014

Brazil and Colombia share a boundary in the Amazon rain forest. One of the last places in the continent to be colonized, Brazil now controls most of the rainforest. Ironically it was the Spanish who made the initial settlements. Barred by the Treaty of Torsedillas of 1494, Portuguese stayed out of Amazon initially while Spanish conquistadors explored the region in search for booty. It was in 1615 that the Portuguese ventured out of their assigned area. Spain and Portugal was in union at this time, but it won’t be along before Portugal became independent.

In 1615, Portuguese seized the French base of Saint Louis (Present day Sao Luis in Brazilian state of Maranhao) and the next year gained control of the mouth of Amazon. Portugal gradually gained more land along the river moving upriver. Manaus, one of the host cities  of the World Cup and one of the city of Amazon’s origin was founded in 1694 by the Portuguese.  Soon it became a fight for control between Spain and Portugal. But instead of a fight by soldiers, it was by competing Catholic missionaries – Spanish Jesuits and Portuguese Carmelites. Eventually the Portuguese won out.

In 1750, the western border of Brazil separating it from the Spanish Viceroyalty of Peru was decided. It took another decade or so to decide on the northern border separating Brazil from the Spanish Viceroyalty of New Granada (Of which Colombia and Venezuela were part).


Posted in Football | Tagged: , , | 1 Comment »

Colombia vs Uruguay

Posted by RB Kollannur on June 29, 2014

Both Colombia and Uruguay are Spanish speaking nations, but Uruguay, tucked between Brazil and Argentina, can trace its origins to their Portuguese neighbors. It was the Portuguese who first settled in this sparsely populated area, but soon the Spanish wrested control. Both nations would gain independence from Spain around the same time. Weakened by the Napoleanic Wars, the firm grip Spain had on Latin America loosened. Between 1810-1840, Spain gradually lost all its possessions in Spain. In its place, there were 16 countries including Colombia and Uruguay.

Colombia was one of the early starters in independence. Bogota, capital of Colombia, was the capital of the Viceroyalty of New Granada, one of the four viceroyalties of Spain in America. Led by Simon Bolivar, New Granada became independent as Republic of Colombia in 1819, but regional aspirations soon broke up this larger nation into three – Venezuela, Ecuador and Colombia (Panama was separated in 1903).

Uruguay, on the other hand, formed part of the Viceroyalty of Rio de la Plata (River Plate). Current day Uruguayan capital of Montevideo was a military stronghold, with upriver Buenos Aires forming the capital of the province. After the Napoleanic Wars, Rio de la Plata broke away and became independent. It was then that Brazil attempted to conquer Uruguay. Unable for either side to hold on to Uruguay, the nation became independent in 1828, under the auspices of  Great Britain.

Incidentally, it was Uruguay who knocked out Brazil from the World Cup, the last time Brazil hosted it (1950).

Posted in History | Tagged: , , | 1 Comment »